Leave Your Shoes At The Door Writing Challenge

I have to admit, this is the first of this kind of thing I have done, a challenge that is, not writing. I do that far to often. What caught my attention was the To Kill a Mockingbird Quote. Harper Lee is a genius and its a fabulously written book. So I decided to take the plunge and accept the challenge!

……………………………………………………….

People think my job is boring. They must, I mean, sometimes I do. I stand on the corner between the first year accommodation block and the campus, handing out flyers to the ‘Hottest Student Night Of The Week’. I won’t go to said student night. I mean, why would I? I hand out the flyers, but it doesn’t mean I have to go. I don’t like clubbing, I don’t like crowds, I don’t like loud music or alcohol. So, going clubbing is not my cup of tea. Yet here I stand, every day for a week, in the drizzle and in the snow and in the icy winds. Every day, i stand here and I say “Do you want a flyer to the Monday Madness?”. 

Some people take them, and for a few, I think I see pity in their eyes. They pity me, standing there day after day, yet no-one ever asks my name. Most of them just shake their heads before continuing their conversations like I never even asked them a question. It’s a little rude, but its for people like that, people who don’t realise that I am watching and listening, that I am still here. 

That girl who’s coming towards me, her silky yellow hair pushed to one side in a matted mess, enough make up on her face to advertise Boots, short shorts and a denim baggy blouse. What does she study? Where did she come from? Maybe she has a boyfriend who waits for her round the corner, and the corners to her down turned lips tilt upwards. Maybe she’s a romantic, and she will hold his hand as they cross campus and go for a Starbucks before their lecture. But then again, maybe she likes being on her own. Maybe she likes the solitude and the fewer complication that arise from being on your own. 

But she has gone now, over the crest of the hill to the campus. What about those boys? With their belts round the bottom of their bums, showing off florescent coloured underwear. Are they the ‘cool kids’? There are three of them, good looking bunch, with two of them laughing and joking at the expense of the third. Have they been  friends for years? Is that why their back-and-forth is so easy? Or have they developed a friendship because they live in the same flat? The same floor? They’re on the same course perhaps? The third is embarrassed, he keeps telling his friends that ‘It wasn’t like that‘ but what does he mean? Did he make out with someone at the party last night? Or did he put his foot in his mouth during a seminar? 

And then there’s the little person they push past, her red duffel coat buttoned up, her hair around her face and a faraway look in her eyes. I see her every morning, ten o’clock on the dot. Why does she keep such a consistent schedule? Why does she always walk alone? Why does she look like she has a million and one things running through her head – and not one of them are relevant to her life and course? Maybe she does art, and she’s thinking of her next project. I heard that artists get very caught up when in the middle of an idea. Or maybe she just doesn’t have anyone to walk with. Sometimes she meets a girl with curly blonde hair, the shy kind, and they walk off after exchanging the most basic of pleasantries. Maybe she is just that sort of person, one who likes to look beyond what is physically around her to see all the possibilities and make-believes of the world. Like kids do!

I keep them all, all of these little characters. I store them up, and think about why people are so different. And I have to admit, on my little corner between the accommodation and the campus, I have all variety of life an student walk past me, not noticing that I am there and I am watching. People think I am bored when they go past, then the forget about me for the rest of the day. But I’m not bored, not when I have so many people to watch and study and wonder about. I mean, it’s not like I’ll ever actually talk to any of them and find out for real what they are like, is it?

……………………………………………………………………………

I am not quite sure how to include a link to the post – or what a pingback is – so I’ve copied and pasted the URL for the Weekly Writing Challenge Page >> http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/01/27/writing-challenge-shoes/

 

Leave a Reply

