Two Together

I tend to get my new patterns from magazines. My latest dress pattern was from July’s Sew Magazine, a rather wonderful Jiffy dress pattern by Simplicity 1609.

Jiffy Dress


And I LOVE IT! It’s such a simple pattern, easy to follow, make in a few hours kind of project. So this week, I made two! One for Penny using a metre and a half of the dark green with flowers fabric she bought about two years ago on a whim (there is still another two metres!), and one for me using a heavier weight cotton-linen blend in yellow (many thanks for the fabric Penny!).
The sixites were awesome style wise. Brilliant style, bright colours quirky and alternative. This pattern? definately my sort of style.

WP_20140804_030

I cut a size 12, figuring that I would be able to take it in wherever necessary, and I am ever so glad that I did! Fitted like a charm. I think the style works better with the heavier linen blend than with the 100% cotton but it’s such a great style anyway!
The Jiffy dress pattern has two pieces, facing and an optional collar or bow. Two darts on either side of the front and two darts on the back. Add an invisible zip and hem! Simples.

For Penny’s dress, it was decided that a collar shouldn’t be added, mainly because I didn’t have any cottons in colours on the fabric. I think a white collar would work quite well, but we can add one on later if that is what’s decided.

WP_20140804_019

WP_20140804_020

For my dress, I added a white collar with the white buttons because there was just a little bit too much yellow! But in my opinion, my dress is pretty much perfect! It’s super comfortable as well.

WP_20140804_022WP_20140804_034

WP_20140804_024

I think these dresses will be added to the Europe trip suitcase!

Bye!

Bea xx

Leave a Reply

