Sketching challenge

When I was younger, I loved drawing. However, as I got older and realised I was truly terrible at drawing people, my sketches turned into doodles. But it is amazing what you rediscover when you have deadlines pending!

I rediscovered my love to draw. I maintain that my people don’t look quite right, the eyes and the mouth just always look wrong no matter how much I try – but copying Disney characters has become a little bit of a side hobby. Its especially good when I am somewhere I can’t take any of my hand sewing, or if I am waiting for the train. I have also decided I should probably steer clear of colouring my pictures in, often they look reasonably good before I apply colour, and by then, it’s too late to go back!

Dreamworks Toothless from 'How to train your dragon' by Bea

Dreamworks Toothless from ‘How to train your dragon’ by Bea

I was on pinterest recently and saw a 15 day drawing challenge Wit and Whistle did last year. I loved the idea so much I thought I would give it a go. If this is successful, I may even set myself my own, more fashion orientated challenge!

The challenge is as follows:

1. a pattern
2. an animal
3. your favourite thing to wear
4. something you found on the ground outside
5. recipe instructions
6. a word
7. an insect
8. a cross section
9. an animal doing something only humans can do
10. something in a jar
11. a diagram
12. something you’re afraid of
13. a plant
14. your favourite food
15. something microscopic

I will be tagging these on Facebook under #15daydrawingchallenge as I go, then I’ll upload all 15 at the end of the two weeks!

Happy sketching

Leave a Reply

