Madness!

From Wikimedia

Actual, real, genuine madness!

Or a Madness musical!

I’m going to go with both. I’m afraid all and any personal projects are going to be put on hold for a wee while. I am involved in my university’s production of ‘Our House: The Madness Musical’ as the costume designer/maker/sourcer.

Set in the 1990’s, it is about Camden Town, and a 16 year old called Joe Casey. On the night of his 16th birthday, he breaks into a building site, and the cops are present. There, the play splits: Joe’s dad is an ex-con (and a ghost in this story) and he tries to show Joe what would happen if he chooses the right path (giving himself up) or the wrong path (running away). Joe’s girlfriend Sarah, wants to go to university to become a lawyer, and she is with Joe the night this happens.

And of course, the entire play is filled with awesome Madness songs like ‘Our House’ and ‘It Must Be Love’.

So we have denim, crop tops, halternecks, dungarees, baggy shirts, slouch boots, smart suits and asymmetrical hems everywhere! It’s in fashion at the moment, which is quite scary because I remember some of the later 90’s fashions that my older siblings wore! I know I have a few things in my wardrobe which could be classified as 90’s if you squint, so I’m hoping to source most of it from the cast themselves. For example, everyone needs a school uniform for Baggy Trousers.

My challenge, as costume designer, is creating costumes that are incredibly easy for Joe to get in and out of. In the second act, the play flits between good Joe and Bad Joe and the costume changes need to be down to single digit seconds rather than minutes. We’ve managed to rent a tracksuit and a specially designed shirt, but this is just one small part of the costuming! Sarah has a wedding dress, which I have no idea what will be found/created, but she has to be able to dance in in and her best friends need bridesmaids dresses…

It’s going to be a lot of work, but I am so excited to be a part of this! The cast and the production team are absolutely fantastic, so now until May will be mostly trying to source 90’s style clothing.

Oh, and there is also a clown, and a dog, and a wedding in Vegas! It’s such a fun musical!

Going to be very busy, I also have exams approaching,

Bea

Leave a Reply

